Unlike the other North Eastern parts of India, none of the Indian empires has invaded the region which constitute the state of Manipur and as a result there is a clear cultural and traditional difference in Manipur and the Northeast region when compared to the rest of India. In 1891 Manipur became a princely state under the British rule and it ended the autonomous status of the Manipur kingdom, thus the British incorporated Manipur into the British Constituency. At the period of Second World War, the face of Manipur was changed into a battle field where the Japanese and allied forces fought against eachother. Japanese faced a major setback in the battle even before they entered Imphal and it proved to be the turning point of war. Following the war, Manipur Constitution Act of 1947 nominated a legislature with Maharaja as the Executive head and recognized a self-governing form of government. Maharaja Bodhchandra was convened to Shillong which was the capital of Indian Assam Province then. With the concurrence of the state to the Indian republic in 1949 October the legislative assembly was suspended.

Click here for the Map of Manipur State »

More About Manipur

In 1956 the state Manipur became a Union Territory of India and later on emerged as a state of India in the year 1972. In order to attain their aim of a autonomous Manipur state, there aroused several Separatist movements since the early 1970s. In relation to its political issues and geographical location Manipur state is treated as a 'sensitive area' and special permission is required for those wish to enter the state.